My love for Surrey Hills just exploded even more this morning after attending the Treasures @ Tastes @ Trinity Market this morning. The sun was out and Union Road Surrey Hills was buzzing with people enjoying their Saturday mornings at the local cafe’s, bakeries, toy shops and Organic Grocer.

The Treasures @ Tastes @ Trinity Market is located inside the Holy Trinity Anglican Church, just past Surrey Hills train station and is held on the 3rd Saturday of every month.

2016 Market Dates
2016 Market Dates

There is parking on union road or around the surrounding streets and there is no entry fee. You will find mainly hand knitted items, hand crafted jewellery and gift ware, candles, jams, preserves, eggs, plants, home baked goodies and sweets, cards and other handmade items. There is a bacon and egg roll stand and a devonshire tea room out the back serving hot drinks, scones with jam and cream and other yummy cakes.

Getting my pram with twins and a toddler into the hall was super easy with ramp access up to the market hall and so many friendly stall holders and shoppers all offering to help me with doors and maneuvering around corners.

Take cash with you. Majority of the stalls don’e have EFTPOS facilities and you’ll be kicking your self for missing out on all the things that catch your eye.

20160716_114129.jpg

From the street up to the hall I passed hundred’s of gorgeous plants and tree’s for sale, a table full of home made cushions, locally bottled Award Winning honey by Peter Adams, some wine, olives and olive oils and the Bacon & egg roll stand. The perfect excuse to get up early head to the market on an empty tummy.

20160716_094802

20160716_104748
Enter a caption

20160716_104820.jpg

 

The Treasures & Tastes @ Trinity Market is a paradise for hand knitted items! I wish I had known about this market when my twins were born at 34 weeks as there are so many gorgeous hand knitted cardigans, booties, beanies and clothes perfect for premature sized babies.

I had barely even made it through the door when I spotted my first purchase. Next to the warm hand knitted scarves at Scarves by Andrea’s stall, I spotted a stall selling gorgeous good quality hand knitted jumpers. Such a bargain with most items under $30. It will fit him probably for the next 2 winters and is so well made as well as warm and cozy. I didn’t catch her name but she is at the market every month with a stall full of knitted garments from newborns through to school age.

20160716_104943
Scarves by Andrea: The softest, warmest scarves I seen. Much better than any you would find in the shops!

 

There was so much local talent showcased at this market. Handmade birthday cards, jewellery, soy candles, oils, apple strudels, quiches, sweets, tea cosy’s, clothing, baby decor and preserves.

My favourite stalls (where I spent all my money) were the hand knitted items, homemade vanilla slices, handmade cards with all original photography by Helen Sparrow, the dribble bibs and handmade soft toys by Oh Sew Sweet, the handmade felt necklaces and little animals by Aurinko Designs and the Butterfield Farm stall.

Aurinko.jpg
Aurinko Designs stall: Felt necklaces made from eco-friendly pure NZ wool with natural wood embellishments, nursery mobiles and little felt animals.

 

20160716_095650
Oh Sew Sweet’s gorgeous creations

20160716_10105720160716_10200520160716_10222920160716_11172120160716_111727

 

The Butterfield Farm stall was all run by the family of the makers of the items and was full of so many jams, cakes and preserves all made up in Emerald. I had a hard time picking which ones to buy as they all looked incredibly delicious.

The lovely Maureen even gave me tips on what meats and foods they went best with (thank-you Maureen). I had unfortunately missed out on the fresh eggs which I hear sold out in the first 1-0 minutes. All 60 dozen cartons of them! I will be back each and every month just to buy more products from these guys. Maybe over a year I will have had a chance to try them all.

20160716_10232220160716_10233220160716_10242320160716_102553

Once you’re ready for morning tea, there is a Devonshire Tea room out the back serving hot drinks, scones with jam and cream (Jam is donated by Butterfield Farm and is delicious) and an array of homemade cakes. The perfect place to rest your feet, meeting place to catch up with family and friends and have a bite to eat before seeing the rest of the stalls.

 

I will definitely be back next month however next month I’ll make sure I am there at 9am on the dot so that I don’t miss out on the eggs and I’ll grab myself an egg and bacon roll and coffee from the market for brekky, have a shop around the market and then head to one of the local cafe’s for lunch.

20160716_115504.jpg
My purchases from the day: The gorgeous hand knitted jumper, the most amazing vanilla slice I have ever eaten (luckily there were 2 so hubby could try some too) beautiful handmade cards and some Spicy Tomato Chutney from Butterfield Farm which I’ll be enjoying tonight with my lamb cutlets

For more information on Melbourne Market Dates and other markets, like us on Facebook or follow our blog.

 

 

 

 

